Maestro Performs “The Triumph of the Human Spirit” with GSO: April 2017

pc2 Program Details

Saturday April 8, 2017 at 8:00 PM, Sunday April 9, 2017 at 3:00 pm The Peace Center

Edvard Tchivzhel, conductor
Mozart: Don Giovanni, K. 527: Overture (arr. Busoni)
Mozart: Eine kleine Nachtmusik (Serenade, K. 525)
Mahler: Symphony No. 6, A minor (“Tragic”)


The music of two Austrian legends pay tribute to our late Executive Director and former Principal Timpanist Sherwood Mobley, a local legend in his own right.  Mozart’s exquisite Overture to Don Giovanni and his timeless and charming Serenade (Eine kleine Nachtmusik) set the stage for a breathtaking ending with the Greenville premiere of Mahler’s Sixth Symphony.  Full of contrasting emotions, this epic piece, known as Mahler’s “Tragic Symphony,” is sure to forever move you in this very special memorial concert.